What is a Dollar? Meaning, Definition!

Dollar (often represented by the dollar sign $) is the name of more than twenty currencies, including (ordered by population) those of the United States, Canada, Australia, Taiwan, Hong Kong, Singapore, New Zealand, Liberia, Jamaica, and Namibia. The U.S. dollar is the official currency of East Timor, Ecuador, El Salvador, Federated States of Micronesia, Marshall Islands, Palau, the Caribbean Netherlands, and for banknotes, Panama. Generally, one dollar is divided into one hundred cents. The Currency, a system of money in general use in a particular country. What is a Rupee? Now, you learn What is a Dollar?

“The history of the dollar. For symbol “$”, see Dollar sign. The Slovenian philosopher, see Mladen Dolar. The municipality in Spain, see Dólar.”

Exchange Currency in US Dollar 

One US Dollar ($1) Rated to Others Country:

  1. 1.38 Australian Dollar
  2. 1.00 Bahamian Dollar
  3. 2.00 Barbadian Dollar
  4. 2.01 Belize Dollar
  5. 1.00 Bermudan Dollar
  6. 1.44 Brunei Dollar
  7. 1.34 Canadian Dollar
  8. 0.82 Cayman Islands Dollar
  9. 2.70 East Caribbean Dollar
  10. 2.13 Fijian Dollar
  11. 207.21 Guyanaese Dollar
  12. 7.76 Hong Kong Dollar
  13. 128.80 Jamaican Dollar
  14. 91.00 Liberian Dollar
  15. 13.96 Namibian Dollar
  16. 32.01 New Taiwan Dollar
  17. 1.44 New Zealand Dollar
  18. 1.44 Singapore Dollar
  19. 7.39 Surinamese Dollar
  20. 6.75 Trinidad & Tobago Dollar

History of Dollar

On 15 January 1520, the Czech Kingdom of Bohemia began minting coins from silver mined locally in Joachimsthal (Czech Jáchymov) and marked on the reverse with the Czech lion. The coins were called Joachim’s thaler, which became shortened in common usage to thaler or taler. The German name “Joachimsthal” literally means “Joachim’s valley” or “Joachim’s dale”. This name found its way into other languages: Czech tolar, Hungarian tallér, Danish and Norwegian (rigs) daler, Swedish (riks)daler, Icelandic dalur, Dutch (rijks)daalder or daler, Ethiopian ታላሪ (“talari”), Italian tallero, Polish talar, Persian dare, as well as – via Dutch – into English as dollar.

A later Dutch coin depicting also a lion was called the leeuwen daler or leeuwen daalder, literally ‘lion daler’. The Dutch Republic produced these coins to accommodate its booming international trade. The leeuwen daler circulated throughout the Middle East and was imitated in several German and Italian cities. This coin was also popular in the Dutch East Indies and in the Dutch New Netherland Colony (New York). It was in circulation throughout the Thirteen Colonies during the 17th and early 18th centuries and was popularly known as “lion (or lyon) dollar”. The currencies of Romania and Bulgaria are, to this day, ‘lion’ (leu/leva). The modern American-English pronunciation of dollar is still remarkably close to the 17th-century Dutch pronunciation of daler. Some well-worn examples circulating in the Colonies were known as “dog dollars”.

Spanish pesos – having the same weight and shape – came to be known as Spanish dollars. By the mid-18th century, the lion dollar had been replaced by Spanish dollar, the famous “pieces of eight”, which were distributed widely in the Spanish colonies in the New World and in the Philippines.

Types of Dollar with Countries Bases

  Antigua and Barbuda East Caribbean dollar XCD    
 Australia and its territories Australian dollar AUD 1966-02-14 Australian pound 1910-1966
Pound sterling 1825-1910
 Bahamas Bahamian dollar BSD   Bahamian pound
 Barbados Barbadian dollar BBD    
 Belize Belize dollar BZD/USD 1973 British Honduran Dollar
 Bermuda Bermuda dollar BMD    
 Brunei Brunei dollar
(Alongside the Singapore dollar)
 Canada Canadian dollar CAD 1858 Canadian pound 1841-1858
Spanish dollar pre-1841
Newfoundland dollar, pre-1949 in the Dominion of Newfoundland
 Cayman Islands Cayman Islands dollar KYD    
 Dominica East Caribbean dollar XCD    
 East Timor United States dollar USD    
 Ecuador United States dollar USD 2001 Ecuadorian sucre
 El Salvador United States dollar USD 2001-01-01 Salvadoran colón
 Fiji Fijian dollar FJD    
 Grenada East Caribbean dollar XCD    
 Guyana Guyanese dollar GYD    
 Hong Kong Hong Kong dollar HKD 1863 Rupee, Real (Spanish/Colonial Spain: Mexican), Chinese cash
 Jamaica Jamaican dollar JMD 1969 Jamaican pound
 Kiribati Kiribati dollar along with the Australian dollar N/A / AUD    
 Liberia Liberian dollar LRD    
 Marshall Islands United States dollar USD    
 Federated States of Micronesia United States dollar USD    
 Namibia Namibian dollar along with the South African rand NAD 1993 South African rand
 Nauru Australian dollar AUD    
 New Zealand and its territories New Zealand dollar NZD 1967 New Zealand pound
 Palau United States dollar USD    
 Saint Kitts and Nevis East Caribbean dollar XCD    
 Saint Lucia East Caribbean dollar XCD    
 Saint Vincent and the Grenadines East Caribbean dollar XCD    
 Singapore Singapore dollar SGD    
 Solomon Islands Solomon Islands dollar SBD    
 Suriname Surinamese dollar SRD 2004 Surinamese guilder
 Taiwan New Taiwan dollar TWD 1949  
 Trinidad and Tobago Trinidad and Tobago dollar TTD    
 Tuvalu Tuvaluan dollar along with the Australian dollar TVD / AUD    
 United States and its territories United States dollar USD 1792 Spanish dollar
colonial script
 Zimbabwe United States dollar USD   Zimbabwean dollar

Note: All Countries Dollar exchange rate, 21 December 2016.

What is a Dollar Meaning Definition - ilearnlot

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like